Steps to become ISO 45001 certified

The International Labor Organization (ILO) estimates that 2.3 million people die every year from work-related accidents and diseases. An organization is responsible for the health and safety of its workers and that of other persons under its control who are performing work on its behalf, including promoting and protecting their physical and mental health. The adoption of an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system is intended to enable an organization to improve its OH&S performance in the enhancement of health and safety at work and to manage its OH&S risks.

The purpose of an OH&S Management System is to provide a framework for managing the prevention of death, work-related injury and ill health. The intended outcome is to prevent death, work-related injury and ill health to workers, to improve and provide a safe and healthy workplace for its workers and other persons under its control. An organization’s activities can pose a risk of death, work-related injury, and ill health, consequently it is critically important for the organization to eliminate or minimize OH&S risks by taking effective preventive measures. When these measures are applied by the organization through its OH&S management system they improve its OH&S performance. It can be more effective and efficient to take early action to address potential opportunities for improvement of OH&S performance.

ISO 45001:2015 includes 10 sections and is based off of the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle. Out of the 10 sections, only 7 of them contain auditable requirements. The basic concept is to make a plan, resource the plan, execute the plan, evaluate the results, and take appropriate action based upon the evaluation. If this cycle is consistently followed, the natural results will be excellent quality products, extraordinary customer service, and a healthy OH&S Management System. 

How the PDCA cycle is represented in the standard:

  • Sections 4, 5, and 6 - The "planning" sections
  • Sections 7 and 8 - The "doing" sections
  • Section 9 - The "checking" section
  • Section 10 - The "acting" section

You can also break the standard down into the following 4 levels: 

  • Level 1 - Occupational Health & Safety Manual, Policy, Objectives, and OH&S Processes (Why we do what we do)
  • Level 2 - OH&S Procedures (When we do what we do and who does it)
  • Level 3 - OH&S Work Instructions, Forms, Matrices (How we do what we do)
  • Level 4 - OH&S Records (Proof that we did what we said we would do)

Examples of ISO 45001 elements include

  • Document & Record Control
  • Maintaining an OH&S Policy & Objectives
  • Actions to Address Risks and Opportunities
  • Identification of OH&S Opportunities
  • Information & Communication
  • Hierarchy of Controlling Hazards
  • Controlling Outsourced Processes
  • Purchasing & Control of Purchased Items
  • Compliance Evaluation
  • Internal Audits & Management Reviews
  • Monitoring Issues and Interested Parties
  • Employee Participation & Consultation
  • Hazard Identification & Risk Assessment
  • Determining Legal Requirements
  • Employee Competence & Awareness
  • Management of Change
  • Managing Contractors
  • Emergency Preparedness & Response
  • Monitoring, Measurement, and Analysis
  • Incident, Nonconformance, and Corrective Action