ISO 9001, 13485, 14001, AS9100, and IATF 16949 Experts
Business Coaching and Leadership Development

Steps to become IATF 16949 certified

  1. McDae creates a Quality Management System customized to your company
  2. McDae trains your employees and helps you implement that system
  3. McDae audits the system in preparation for certification
  4. McDae partners with you to select your registrar to certify your system

IATF 16949

IATF 16949 is not a stand alone quality management standard, but is implemented as a supplement to, and in conjunction with, ISO 9001:2015. This means that an organization in the automotive sector seeking IATF 16949 certification must also comply with ISO 9001:2015. IATF 16949 is a technical specification standard aimed at the development of a Quality Management System that provides for continual improvement, emphasizing defect prevention and the reduction of variation and waste in the automotive industry supply chain.

IATF 16949 applies to the design development, production and, when relevant, installation and servicing of automotive related products. The requirements are intended to be applied throughout the supply chain.

The benefits of IATF 16949 Certification include increased customer satisfaction, delivering products that consistently meet customer requirements, a reduction in operating costs, proven business credentials, and open doors to win new business. Procurement specifications often require certification as a prerequisite for suppliers, particularly in a highly regulated sector.

How the PDCA cycle is represented in the standard:

Sections 4, 5, and 6 - The "planning" sections
Sections 7 and 8 - The "doingsections

Section 9 - The "checkingsection

Section 10 - The "actingsection

You can break the standard down into the following 4 levels:

Level 1 - Quality Manual, Policy, Objectives, and QMS Processes (Why we do what we do)

Level 2 - QMS Procedures (When we do what we do and who does it)

Level 3 - QMS Work Instructions, Forms, Matrices (How we do what we do)

Level 4 - QMS Records (Proof that we did what we said we would do)

Examples of IATF 16949 elements include:

  • All of the ISO 9001 Categories
  • Conforming to Customer Specific Requirements
  • Corporate Responsibility & Ethics
  • Contingency Plans
  • Employee Motivation and Empowerment
  • Internal / External Laboratory Requirements
  • On-The-Job Training Program
  • Internal Auditor Competence
  • Controlling Engineering Specifications
  • Controlling Embedded Software 
  • Prototype Control Program
  • Supplier Auditing & Development
  • Developing Control Plans
  • Total Productive Maintenance 
  • Management of Production Tooling
  • Conforming to Statutory / Regulatory Requirements 
  • Manufacturing Process & Product Audits
  • Problem Solving & Error Proofing

  • Product Safety
  • Production Process Approval Process (PPAP)
  • Risk Analysis 
  • Preventive Actions
  • Plant / Facility / Equipment Planning
  • Statistical Process Control
  • Measurement Systems Analysis
  • Advanced Product Quality Planning (APQP) 
  • Confidentiality
  • Manufacturing Feasibility
  • Controlling Manufacturing Process Design 
  • Standardized Work & Visual Standards
  • Verification of Job Set-Ups
  • Verification after Shut-Downs
  • Production Scheduling
  • Layout Inspection & Functional Testing
  • Control of Reworked / Repaired Product
  • Warranty Management Systems